Your Browser does not support JavaScript.
Treasures of the World's Cultures: The British Museum after 250 Years
:::
:::
:::
Reaching the Four Corners: Facets of Art in the Roman Empire

Starting from about the third century BC, the territory of the Romans expanded rapidly, and not long thereafter they took control of the entire realm of the Mediterranean Sea. Many of their surviving artworks and objects, such as portraiture, sculpture, engraving and coins, provide clear evidence of what life was like in the Roman Empire, with many of the works designed to enhance the empire's prestige and publicize imperial glory.

The Romans were also influenced by many aspects of Greek culture, so Roman art also incorporates features from that of Ancient Greece. Mythological stories, jewelery, objects and utensils of daily life, the emotive qualities of sculptures, and decorative mosaic tableaux all show the influence of not only the Greeks, but of the various peoples--Egyptians, Gauls, Britons, and others--who were conquered by Rome. With expansion of the Roman Empire, the art and culture of the Romans reached the four corners of the known world, including areas of the Near East, Egypt, Spain, and even Britain. In all of these places, artworks and objects associated with the Romans have been found. In the fourth century AD, after the imperial government adopted Christianity, Christian images began to appear with greater frequency on the medallions and dishes produced by inhabitants of the Roman Empire, showing the increasing importance of Christianity in Roman culture at this time.

Bust of the Emperor Hadrian

Italy, Roman, 2nd century AD
Rome, formerly in the Villa Montalto
Greek Marble
H60 cm (total), H27cm (chin to crown)
Townley Collection
GR 1805.7-3.94 (BM Cat Sculpture 1897)
Enlargement
Bust of the Emperor Hadrian

Hadrian's reign (AD 117-138) was characterised by a peaceful consolidation of the Roman Empire after the aggressive expansion under his predecessor Trajan. In Britain, he was responsible for the creation of Hadrian's Wall, a magnificent border fortification against the barbarians in the north, both of military value and potent symbolic significance. Hadrian travelled widely and was known as a great lover of Greek culture. He was also the first Roman Emperor to sport a beard, a fact often explained by reference to his philosophical outlook and love of Greek role models. This fashion was eagerly adopted by his subjects throughout the Empire.

This bust found in Rome but made of Greek marble, shows the Emperor in heroic nudity with his head emphatically turned to the left. His elegant coiffure and beard are rendered mostly with the chisel. The eyes show incised irises and drilled pupils, a fashion first adopted on portrait sculpture in these years.

A H Smith, A Catalogue of Sculpture in the Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities, British Museum (London 1904), no. 1897

M Wegner, Hadrian [Das Römische Herrscherbild II.3] (Berlin 1956), 101.
Bust of Antinous

Italy, Roman, 2nd century AD
Rome, Janiculan Hill
Parian Marble
H60 cm (total), H34 cm (chin to crown)
Townley Collection
GR 1805.7-3.97 (BM Cat Sculpture 1899)
Enlargement
Bust of Antinous

This fine marble bust depicts Antinous (c. AD 110-130), companion of the Roman Emperor Hadrian. A youth from Bithynia, an area in the northwest of modern Turkey, he had first come to the attention of the Emperor during Hadrian's travels in the East. His grace and beauty soon made him the Emperor's favourite. While accompanying him on a journey up the Nile, Antinous was tragically drowned. A romantic legend soon sprang up, suggesting he had given his life for Hadrian. The Emperor, devastated by this loss, in turn declared Antinous a god and his cult spread, particularly through the eastern empire.

Court-artists created an official image of Antinous, based mostly on Classical Greek statues of gods combined with individual, though highly idealised portrait features. This bust shows his head slightly inclined and turned to the left, his smooth face sensuous and with full lips. His coiffure is made up of a lively mass of long locks of hair, around which he wears a wreath of ivy, an attribute of the god Dionysos. The head in fact once belonged to a statue showing Antinous in the guise of this deity, and was only set into a bust in the eighteenth century.

A H Smith, A Catalogue of Sculpture in the Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities, British Museum (London 1904), no. 1899;

H Meyer, Antinous (Munich 1991), 52-53 no. I 31 pl. 33.
Portrait-head of Euripides

Italy, Roman, 1st century AD
Marble
H35 cm (total), H31 cm (head)
Castellani Collection
GR 1879.7-12.1 (BM Cat Sculpture 1833)
Enlargement
Portrait-head of Euripides

Euripides (c. 485/480- 407/406 BC) was one of the three leading playwrights of Classical Athens. His tragic plays often reflected current events, filtered through the medium of classical myths, as well as key aspects of the human condition. Euripides wrote 92 plays, of which 18 survive entire and others in fragments. During his lifetime, plays were performed only once as part of a competition during religious festivals in honour of the god Dionysos.

Under the Athenian statesman Lykourgos, in about 330 BC, bronze statues of the three tragedians were set up in the Theatre of Dionysos in Athens to celebrate the great achievements of the city's golden age. It is possible that this portrait is copied after the statue of Euripides in the theatre, although some feel that it might be after a later version. Euripides is depicted as a respected older citizen, with a full beard and thinning hair. In accordance with conventions of the time, no reference is made to his profession.

The head is remarkably well preserved. It was made for insertion into a statue, probably in the first century AD. The provenance of the sculpture is unknown, but it may well have graced the villa of a Roman noble, where portraits of poets and philosophers were displayed to demonstrate the refined intellectual tastes of the wealthy owner.

A H Smith, A Catalogue of Sculpture in the Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities, British Museum (London, 1904), no. 1833.

G M A Richter, The Portraits of the Greeks, abridged and revised by R R R Smith (Oxford, 1984), 121-124.
Silver Tyche (Personification) of Antioch

Rome, second half of the 4th century AD
Silver and gilt
Found at the foot of the Esquiline Hill, in Rome, Italy.
H14cm
Acquired as part of the Blacas Collection in 1866.
PE 1866.2-29.22
Enlargement
Silver Tyche (Personification) of Antioch
Two silver dishes with monograms

Probably Rome, second half of the 4th century
Found at the foot of the Esquiline Hill, in Rome, Italy.
Silver and gilt
Diam. 16 cm; H14.5, W20 cm
Acquired as part of the Blacas Collection in 1866.
PE 1866.12-29.14 and 16
Enlargement 1
Enlargement 2
Silver dish with monograms

Silver dish with monograms
Two silver horse-trappings

Probably Rome, second half of the 4th century
Found at the foot of the Esquiline Hill, in Rome, Italy.
Silver and gilt
L63.5 cm (both)
Acquired as part of the Blacas Collection in 1866.
PE 1866.12-9.26 and 28
Enlargement
Two silver horse-trappings

The Esquiline Treasure

These objects are all from the "Esquiline treasure" found by workmen in 1793 whilst digging at the foot of the Esquiline Hill in Rome. The treasure comprises silver caskets, vessels, plate and ornaments and is one of the largest and most important silver hoards to have survived from Late Antiquity. The treasure was originally owned by an eminent Roman family. A gilded monogram on several dishes identifies this family as that of the Turcii. The owners would appear to have been Turcius Secundus and Projecta Turcii, who were married from 379 to 383. Projecta's name appears on one of the silver caskets and is famous for its Christian inscription: 'Secundus and Projecta, live in Christ'.

Shelton, K.J., The Esquiline Treasure (London, 1981).
Statue of Dionysos

Lybia, Roman, 2nd century AD
Cyrene, Temple of Dionysos
Large-grained, white marble
H171 cm
GR 1861.7-25.2 (BM Cat Sculpture 1476)
Enlargement
Statue of Dionysos

This beautiful statue was discovered in Cyrene, a Greek colony on the Mediterranean shore of modern Libya that continued to thrive under the Roman Empire. It depicts Dionysos, the god of wine, who can be recognised by his characteristic attributes, an ivy wreath and a bunch of grapes.

His head is turned to the right and long strands of hair fall over his shoulders. The god wears sandals and a long himation (mantle) that is draped over his left shoulder and back and then forward and over his raised left arm, but leaves his soft yet muscular torso and genitals exposed. The deep folds of the himation are carved in fine detail. The back of the statue, though worked, appears flat, indicating that it was meant to stand in a niche or against a wall. It must have been made by skilled sculptors of the second century AD after an earlier Greek work of the third century BC.

Like almost all ancient sculpture, the statue was originally at least partly painted; traces of red colour are preserved in the eyes and the wreath. In antiquity the body itself would have been left untouched except for small details like the nipples, so that the soft, skin-coloured surface of the marble would have contrasted beautifully with the painted drapery.

With the statue were found a statue of a panther with a collar of vine leaves, which usually accompanies the god, and a pedestal, on which the statue is thought to have stood. The building in which it was discovered has been identified as the Temple of Dionysos.

A H Smith, A Catalogue of Sculpture in the Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities, British Museum Vol. II (London, 1900), no. 1476.

J Huskinson, Roman Sculpture from Cyrenaica in the British Museum (London, 1975), 17-18 no. 32 pl. 13.

您的瀏覽器不支援JavaScript語法,但是並不影響您獲取本網站的內容
世界文明瑰寶─大英博物館250年收藏展 Treasures of the World's Cultures: The British Museum after 250 Years
:::
:::
:::
【廣被四鄰】羅馬帝國的藝術成就

從西元前三世紀開始,羅馬疆域迅速擴張,不久就控制整個地中海世界。存世的古羅馬藝術作品,如帝國時期的肖像畫、雕刻、塑像以及錢幣,無不呈現羅馬民族崇尚現實、提高個人威望以及宣揚皇帝威權的實用精神;另一方面,作品中的神話人物、珠寶鑲嵌、花冠頭飾、日用器具、塑像神情以及馬賽克飾板等,不僅反映羅馬深受希臘文化的薰陶,而帝國境內被統治的埃及人、高盧人、盎格魯薩克遜人等民族文化特質,也被融入羅馬藝術作品之中。隨著帝國的拓展,羅馬文化廣被四鄰,近東、埃及、西班牙、不列顛等地,到處可見羅馬風格的藝術珍寶。西元四世紀,當帝國政府承認基督教合法地位後,基督形象開始出現在製作的器具徽章上,可見基督宗教藝術在羅馬文化中的重要性。

哈德良半身像

西元二世紀 羅馬帝國時期
義大利 羅馬
希臘大理石
全高60公分 下巴至頭頂高27公分
放大圖
哈德良半身像

繼羅馬皇帝圖拉真(Trajan 53-117)的大肆擴張之後,哈德良的統治(Hadrian 76-138)被認為鞏固了羅馬帝國的和平。他在不列顛修建哈德良長城(Hadrian's Wall),這是用來抵抗北方蠻族宏偉的邊境防禦工程,既具有軍事價值,又具有影響力。哈德良四處遊歷,被認為是希臘文化狂熱的愛好者,他也是第一位蓄鬚的羅馬皇帝,這樣的外型通常被認為涉及他的哲學理念和他對希臘的熱愛。這樣的風氣很快地傳遍羅馬帝國,成為效仿的風潮。

這尊胸像在羅馬發現,但它的材質是希臘大理石,胸像呈現的是哈德良裸體上半身,頭明顯轉向左側,他精緻的髮型和鬍鬚大部分是用鑿子雕琢出來的。眼睛雕刻有虹膜和鑽出瞳孔,這是當時雕刻作品中剛剛萌芽運用的一種流行手法。

安提諾烏斯半身像

西元二世紀 羅馬帝國時期
義大利 羅馬 賈尼庫蘭山丘
白色大理石
全高60公分 下巴至頭頂高34公分
放大圖
安提諾烏斯半身像

這尊精美的大理石胸像,呈現的是安提諾烏斯(Antinous 110-130)-羅馬皇帝哈德良(Hadrian 76-138)的孌童,一位來自現在土耳其北部卑斯尼亞(Bithynia)的年輕人,他初次引起皇帝的注意,是在哈德良到東方巡遊的時候,安提諾烏斯的優雅和美麗,很快使他成為皇帝的最愛。陪伴皇帝巡遊尼羅河時,他不幸溺斃了。這則浪漫的傳說很快地傳開,說安提諾烏斯是為哈德良皇帝獻出自己的生命。皇帝完全被這個不幸擊跨,宣布安提諾烏斯為神祇,祭祀他的儀式傳至各地,特別是在帝國東部地區。

宮廷藝術家將古典希臘神像和人結合,創作出高度理想化的安提諾烏斯形象。這座胸像頭部略微向左前傾,臉頰光滑而美麗,嘴唇飽滿,他濃密的長髮栩栩如生,佩戴著長春藤花冠,是酒神狄奧尼索斯(Dionysos)的象徵。這尊胸像的頭部,實際上是一座將安提諾烏斯塑造成神的雕像,在十八世紀才被改造成胸像。

歐里庇得斯頭像

西元一世紀 羅馬帝國時期
大理石
全高35公分 頭部高31公分
放大圖
歐里庇得斯頭像

歐里庇得斯(Euripides 約485/480-407/406BC)是古代雅典三大傑出劇作家之一,他的悲劇作品往往借助神話,與人類生存環境中的關鍵以反映現實。歐里庇得斯寫過九十二部劇本,其中有十八部完整流傳下來,其他的都殘缺不全。他的作品在他生前僅僅在慶祝酒神狄奧尼索司(Dionysos)的宗教節日中作為競賽部分內容表演過一次。

大約紀元前330年,即雅典政治家賴庫爾戈斯(Lykourgos)主政時,三大悲劇家的青銅像被樹立在雅典狄奧尼索司劇場(Theatre of Dionysos)中,以慶祝這個城市黃金時代的偉大成就。這尊頭像很可能是根據當時劇場裡歐里庇得的雕像複製而成,但也有人認為是更晚期的作品。歐里庇得斯被塑造成一位受人尊敬的長者,有著濃密的鬍鬚,稀疏的頭髮。按照當時的習俗,雕像並未表現出他的職業象徵。

頭像保存得很好,原來嵌插在一個雕像上,推測為西元一世紀的作品。儘管雕像的出處已不可考,但它可能是用來裝飾一位羅馬貴族的別墅。在當時,富有者常透過擺放詩人和哲學家的雕像來顯示其高雅的藝術品味。

安提克命運女神化身

西元330-370年 羅馬帝國晚期
義大利 羅馬 埃斯奎里山
銀鍍金
高14公分
放大圖
安提克命運女神化身
鏨花圓形銀盤

西元四世紀 羅馬帝國晚期
義大利 羅馬 埃斯奎里山
銀 鍍金
直徑16公分
放大圖
鏨花圓形銀盤
鏨花方形銀盤

西元四世紀 羅馬帝國晚期
義大利 羅馬 埃斯奎里山
銀 鍍金
高14.5公分 寬20公分
放大圖
鏨花方形銀盤
銀質馬飾

西元四世紀 羅馬帝國晚期
義大利 羅馬 埃斯奎里山
銀 鍍金
長63.5公分
放大圖
銀質馬飾

埃斯奎里寶藏(The Esquiline Treasure)

這些展品都來自1793年於羅馬埃斯奎里(Esquiline Hill)山腳下挖掘發現的古物,被統稱為「埃斯奎里寶藏(The Esquiline Treasure)」。寶藏內容包括銀質的首飾盒、容器、盤子和飾品,是羅馬晚期保存下來最大、最重要的銀器寶藏之一。根據盤子上鍍金花押字母組合,可以確認原屬於一個顯赫的羅馬家族—圖爾西(Turcii)。這些寶藏可能屬於圖爾西爾斯塞昆德斯(Turcius Secundus)和普羅杰塔圖爾西(Projecta Turcii)夫婦的,他們在西元379-383年間成婚。普羅杰塔的名字出現在其中一個銀質首飾盒上,並因盒上的基督教銘文而聞名於世:「塞昆德斯和普羅杰塔,活在基督裡」。

酒神狄奧尼索斯像

西元二世紀羅馬時期複製品(原件為西元前三世紀)羅馬帝國
利比亞 古利奈地區 狄奧尼索斯神廟
粗粒白大理石
高171公分
放大圖
酒神戴奧尼索斯像

這尊精美的雕像發現於昔蘭尼(Cyrene),位於現代利比亞地中海沿岸地區的希臘殖民地,在羅馬帝國統治下持續繁盛。透過他帶著一頂長春藤花冠和葡萄串,可以容易地辨識出,這是一尊酒神狄奧尼索斯(Dionysos)的雕像。

雕像的頭轉向右側,長髮垂肩,足蹬綁帶涼鞋,身著古希臘長袍,長袍順著他的左肩和後背垂下,又向前蓋住了他抬起的左臂,但露出他光滑而強健的軀體和生殖器。長袍的褶紋雕刻得精細入微。背部儘管經過加工,仍顯得很平整,顯示出它可能是放置在壁龕裡或是靠牆而立。這座雕像顯然是一位在西元二世紀技藝嫻熟的雕塑家,依據紀元前三世紀早期希臘的作品仿製而成。

幾乎所有的古代雕刻作品都著色過,這尊雕像也不例外,至少原來也曾部分著色,眼睛和花冠裡還殘留有紅色顏料。這件雕像,除了一些細小的地方如乳頭之外,很少被觸摸,所以柔滑的、皮膚般色澤的大理石表面,與著色的衣紋形成對比,非常美觀。與雕像一起發現的還有一個戴著葡萄枝葉項圈的豹子雕像,它通常陪伴在酒神左右,另外還有一個基座,估計是用來放置雕像的。發現雕像的建築已被認定為酒神狄奧尼索斯的神廟。