Your Browser does not support JavaScript.
Treasures of the World's Cultures: The British Museum after 250 Years
:::
:::
:::
Pearls of the Pacific: the Island Cultures of Oceania

The numerous islands scattered across the vast expanse of the Pacific Ocean show an amazing diversity of societies and a great variety of cultural invention. The majority of the people of the area grow crops, although fishing is an important activity around most small islands and on the coasts of the larger landmasses. Pacific peoples had no metals before the coming of Europeans, and so they developed a remarkable range of manufacturing techniques using tools of stone, bone, and shell as well as a variety of organic materials, such as wood and coral. While sculpture was an important form across the Pacific, as typified by the monumental stone figures of Easter Island, islands or districts had very localized styles of manufacture and art. In some areas, woodcarving was highly developed, in others shell-working, modelling in clay and vegetable pastes, or making textiles. One of the best known of these regional styles is found in the sophisticated art of the Maori, with its emphasis on intricate woodcarving and jade work.

Nephrite Hand club

Maori. Bay of Islands, North Island, New Zealand.
Nephrite
L43.0 cm
Christy Collection: gift of Sir C.H. Read
Oc1896,-.929
Enlargement
Nephrite Hand club

This hand club was one of four objects given by Titore, a Maori chief of the Ngapuhi tribe, to F.W. Sadler, of the HMS Buffalo. The Buffalo sailed regularly between Sydney and the Bay of Islands, North Island of New Zealand in the 1830s. The club was later sold by Sadler's grand-daughter to C.H. Read.

Maori weapons, and short clubs (mere) in particular, were made in several forms ideal for close range fighting. They were made of stone, wood or whalebone: those made of nephrite were the most prestigious. Maori value nephrite for its strength and its ability to keep a sharp cutting edge, as well as for its beauty. Such clubs were often given personal names, and were regarded as heirlooms.

A warrior would use the club in either hand, wielding it like a cleaver with a slicing motion to strike at an adversary's head or neck. When not in use, the mere was carried tucked into the folds of the man's belt, safe yet always at hand. The perforation at the butt end would be for a wrist strap, often a plaited flax fibre cord or a thong.

Flute

New Zealand, Pacific Ocean
Wood
L8.0, D3.0 cm
Donated by William Bragge 1869
Ethno Oc.5369
Enlargement
Flute

A drawing by an artist on Captain James Cook's first Pacific voyage indicates that this Maori flute was collected during the 1769-1770 exploration of New Zealand by HMS Endeavour. It has four playing holes and a small loop for a suspension cord. This type of flute is played by blowing either through the mouth or through the nose at the curved end: playing by the mouth produces a resonant sound, while playing by the nose gives a softer, sobbing effect. Historically, flute music and chanted poems helped to soothe the pain of tattooing. Musical instruments were seen to control and celebrate the air or breath (te ha) which, in the ancient Maori world, was considered to be the essence of life.

Male figure

Rotorua area, New Zealand, Pacific Ocean, 1994
Wood
H56 cm
Collected by Dorota Czarkowska Starzecka for the British Museum
AOA Oc1994,04.88
Enlargement
Male figure

Maori art continues to florish today. The internationally famous sculptor and carver Lyonel Grant (born in 1957) is affiliated to the Ngāti Pikiao tribe (Te Arawa group) of the Rotorua area of north New Zealand and is one of the most successful living Maori artists. He works in a variety of media – wood, stone, bronze, glass and resin. This figure is carved from a solid piece of tōtara (Podocarpus totara) a wood native to New Zealand. It is a modern version of a traditional form, the tekoteko, the figure positioned at the front apex of a house. Grant respects the skill of the carvers of previous generations and derives some of his inspiration from their art, giving it a modern interpretation. The figure features the carved lines of tattooing as seen over the face and thighs of an important male. Tattooing is one of the Maori arts currently enjoying a renaissance. The hands of the figure are shown characteristically with threelong, sinuous fingers, resting on the protruding belly.

D C Starzecka (ed), Maori: Art and Culture, (London, British Museum Press, 1996).

您的瀏覽器不支援JavaScript語法,但是並不影響您獲取本網站的內容
世界文明瑰寶─大英博物館250年收藏展 Treasures of the World's Cultures: The British Museum after 250 Years
:::
:::
:::
【藍色文明】大洋洲諸島的文化鏈

大洋洲的海面上綴飾著星羅棋佈的海島,擁有著令人驚豔的多元社會型態及豐富多樣的文化發展。大部分的大洋洲居民以農耕為主,雖然捕魚也是一項極為重要的收獲來源,但是範圍僅限於小型的島嶼以及大島的沿岸地區。

在歐洲人踏入大洋洲前,大洋洲的居民們沒有任何金屬製物,因此他們在石頭、骨貝類及有機物質上,如木頭及珊瑚的製作技術上相當精良。雕刻是大洋洲一個相當重要的藝術表現,最具代表性的便是復活節島上的巨大石雕群,然各島嶼的製作技術及藝術成就都擁有其特殊的地方風格。在某些島嶼,木雕技術相當高明;而貝殼類、陶器及織品製作則在其他區域也有相當程度的發展。最為人知且可以代表大洋洲地方藝術風格的,是毛利人那些精細複雜的木雕及玉器製品。

玉石短棍

約西元1830年 毛利文化時期
紐西蘭 北島島嶼灣
軟玉
長43公分
放大圖
玉石短棍

這件手棍是一位名叫提托爾(Titore)的毛利部恩加僕依(Ngapuhi)酋長贈送給英國皇家海軍水牛號(Buffalo)艦長薩德勒(F.W.Sadler)的四件物品之一。水牛號在1830年代定期往返於雪梨、島嶼灣與紐西蘭北島之間。薩德勒的孫女後來將這件手棍轉賣給了里德(C.H. Read)爵士。

毛利人把他們的武器,特別是短棍(mere),做成適於近距離戰鬥的幾種形式。這些短棍以木頭、石頭或鯨魚骨製成,其中尤以玉石製造的短棍最為出名。毛利人之所以珍視玉,是因它既美麗又能保持邊刃鋒利。這類短棍往往刻有人名,並被視為傳家寶。

一位戰士可以一手操控短棍,以削肉的動作攻擊對手的頭部和頸部。閒置時,就把短棍插入腰間,安全又順手。短棍較粗的一端帶孔,可繫腕帶,腕帶多以亞麻纖維或皮革編成。

毛利人戰時用的哨子

西元十八至十九世紀早期
毛利文化時期
紐西蘭

長8公分 直徑3公分
放大圖
毛利人戰時用的哨子

透過一位跟隨著詹姆斯.庫克(James Cook 1728-1779)船長首航太平洋的一位藝術家的素描,得知這支毛利笛是英國皇家海軍奮進號(Endeavour)於1769-1770年在紐西蘭探險時取得。它有四個演奏孔及一個繫繩小環。此種笛子用嘴或鼻子在彎口上吹奏出聲:用嘴吹時可產生共鳴音,用鼻吹時會發出一種更柔和的效果。在過去,笛聲和聖詩被用於減輕紋身時的痛苦。樂器可控制並活絡氣息(te ha),古毛利人認為,氣息乃生命的要素。

毛利男子木雕

作者:利奧尼・葛南特
西元1994年 當代作品

高56公分 寬30公分
放大圖
毛利男子木雕

毛利藝術至今仍然非常活躍,國際知名雕塑家利奧尼‧葛南特(Lyonel Grant 1957-)就來自紐西蘭北部羅托魯阿(Rotorua)地區的恩嘎提‧皮奇奧(Ngāti Pikiao)部落的提阿拉瓦族(Te Arawa),他同時也是當今最成功的毛利藝術家之一。他利用各式各樣的材質如木頭、石頭、青銅、玻璃與樹脂等從事創作。這座雕像是利用紐西蘭原生的羅漢松木雕刻的。泰科泰克(tekoteko)是一種置於屋頂的毛利傳統雕像,格蘭特的這座雕像,即是以這種傳統形式呈現的現代雕塑。葛南特傳承了前輩藝術家們的技巧,並從他們的藝術中汲取靈感,加以現代詮釋。在這尊地位顯赫男性雕像的臉部和大腿上,都刻有紋身線條。迄今,紋身仍是一項復甦中的毛利藝術。雕像的手部有三根特別細長且彎曲的手指,放在突起的腹部上。